National Qualification Codes

National tertiary qualification codes for use by tertiary education providers. The list is made up of New Zealand certificates and diplomas and National certificates and diplomas.


The code list identifies the unique 2 alpha 4 digit qualification code allocated by the Ministry of Education which is used in the Single Data Return (SDR) for a National or New Zealand certificate or diploma. The code list is a subset of all qualification codes used in the SDR.

The code list is based on the National certificates and diplomas, and New Zealand certificates and diplomas quality assured by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA).  Visit Qualifications on the NZQA website. They are all on the New Zealand Qualifications Framework (NZQF). All these qualifications have a unique NZQA qualification Number.

The qualification code identifies the qualification a student is currently enrolled in; a qualification that has been completed by a student; or a qualification for which a course has been approved for Student Achievement Component funding.

The SDR is a set of data items that are specifically required by the Ministry of Education and the Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) to produce performance information for investing, funding, and monitoring purposes, as well as statistical reporting purposes. All TEOs that receive the Student Achievement Component and/or have students with Student Loans or Allowances are required to complete an SDR.

Tertiary education providers have access to all the current national qualification codes on this list through the Tertiary Education Commission STEO website.  Visit Services for Tertiary Education Organisations on the Steo website.

For detailed information on national qualifications visit Qualifications - Advanced Search on the NZQA website.

National Qualification CodesUpdated: August 2020

Contact Us

Information Queries
For all queries related to the reporting publication and use of data please email:
Information Mailbox