PISA 2012


PISA 2012 (or Programme for International Student Assessment) is the fifth cycle of an OECD study measuring the achievement of 15-year-old students in nearly 70 countries around the world.


The assessment is done every three years and first started in 2000. Each assessment has a focus on one of three main subject areas, mathematics, science and reading. Mathematics is the focus for this cycle of PISA, with a new topic - financial literacy - also being assessed for the first time.

More information about PISA, along with links to other PISA cycle web pages, is available from the PISA Home page.

Mathematical and financial literacy focus

Key Facts PISA 2012
When: Main Study July/August 2012.
Who: A representative sample of New Zealand schools and students. Over 5,000 students from 177 schools took part in the main study.
What: OECD International Standardised Study measuring mathematics (main focus), financial, scientific and reading literacy. Background information also collected from students and schools.
How: Conducted under the auspices of the OECD; managed within New Zealand by the Ministry of Education.
Where: Sixty-five countries from around the world took part in PISA 2012, including all of the OECD member countries.

PISA Publications

The Ministry of Education has published many reports based on the three-yearly PISA assessments.  All PISA reports are listed on the PISA Publications page (please refer to the 'Downloads/Links' box top right).

Related Pages

Where to find out more

Contact Us

For any questions or requests for information about PISA please email:

PISA Information Mailbox